top of page
Search
  • Jeremy Beartham

Italia: Carbohydrates and Conjugations

Buongiorno from Sunny Genova!


This week my travels have taken me across the Alps and into the land of pizza, pasta and 'amore'. After a few days of hiking through the mountains, I reached the bustling port city of Genova. I’m a huge fan of the hustle and bustle of a shipping city, and all that brings. Plus, shipping imports release 44 times fewer CO2e that plane imports – not something to be sniffed at! Historically one of the most important ports on the Mediterranean, it is a vibrant city filled with history, art and most importantly for this little bear…food.


I’ve been immersing myself in the local culture during my stay, and must say I feel rather at home. (Maybe it’s seeing the St. George’s cross flag everywhere, I don’t know! I digress…) I have been practising my Italian with all the 'nonnas' at the markets whilst thoroughly enjoying all the local produce, such as handmade pasta and delicious pesto. Genova is famous for its special green sauce, and with good reason. It uses fresh, local basil (very different in taste from that grown in south Italy). In fact, you may remember that Genova airport made the news in 2017 when it lifted its liquid ban on pesto letting travellers take as much as 500g of pesto in their carry-on luggage, exempting them from the 100ml rule for liquids in carry-on baggage. That is definitely an idea I could get my paws around!


Italy as a whole prides itself on the culinary tendency of eating local and in season, something that makes for tasty, healthy food but also a happy climate. Not only that, processed food and ready meals are far less visible and all supermarket carrier bags have been compostable for years. In fact, there are some cities in Italy that allow you to purchase metro tickets by recycling old bottles – environmentally friendly, and thrifty – I’m on board.


Anyway, not long until I have to hit the road…time for one last bowl of pasta…


Ciao a tutti x



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Bear in Spain

As I crossed the border into Spain from France I noticed it become warmer. Apparently Spain has already warmed by about 1.5C deg C (higher than the global average of 1.1) since the Industrial Revolut

bottom of page